Where NFL Mock Drafts Rank Moreno/Story Links, hoops and more

ESPN and Sports Illustrated rolled out their mock NFL drafts today (at least the early versions of them) so we got our first dose of Mel Kiper before we will be sick of him and his hair in a couple of months. One player who looks to be minted as a millionaire and smiling widely for the cameras on ESPN on April 25-26 in New York City is former Middletown South and Georgia star Knowshon Moreno, who elected to leave after leading the SEC in rushing and being named Associated Press first-team All-American for the Bulldogs this fall.

Kiper has Moreno going at No. 16 to the San Diego Chargers right now as the first running back to be selected in the draft. Sports Illustrated’s Don Banks has Moreno way down at No. 28 to the Eagles to be a complement to Brian Westbrook. Please, just anywhere but in the AFC East because if I have to watch him tear up the Jets six times a year I’m going to go nuts. Oh that’s right, Rex Ryan is going to make everything (cough, cough) OK for one of the worst-run franchises this side of the Lions (yet one that I keep giving money to). It will be even worse than watching the Phillies’ Cole Hamels, who is a good guy who I got to know when he started his pro career with the Lakewood BlueClaws and that I caught up with every year at spring training, come back and kill the Mets.

Speaking of sportswriter dilemmas, here is one that I hope happens to me one day.

As for tonight’s hoops, we’ll see if No. 3 Freehold continues to have No. 7 Freehold Township‘s number on the boys side and who the main challenger to Toms River North’s Class A South supremacy will be when Toms River East meets Brick Memorial. Red Bank Catholic heads to Manasquan to see if the Class A Central madness continues.

Also, if you want to listen live to the Central at Monsignor Donovan game at 6:30 p.m. tonight, it’s on the Shore Sports Network, which you can get to by clicking here and clicking on the “Listen Live” link. The first meeting between these teams went to overtime and was won by Central. With Central guard Ibn Moye dueling Griffins’ guard Sean Grennan, it should be a fun one.

On the girls side, the main game is No. 4 Rumson-Fair Haven at No. 5 St. Rose. This should be a good indicator of the gulf between the top four teams in the Shore and everybody else, or show us that St. Rose deserves some consideration to be in the hunt for a Shore Conference Tournament semifinal berth as well. I will get some highlights and a story from this game while also hopefully catching some boys hoops action before the 7 p.m. tip-off at St. Rose.

STORY LINKS

And finally, here are some general interest stories that I’ve read that you might want to check out. I have a wide variety of interests, so not everything is about sports, although I also left out any of the political stories because I know people don’t want to read about that here. I will try to have an edition of some good high school stories when I get the time. I also put this section at the bottom so that if you don’t care about anything but high school sports, you can just skip it. I will try to sprinkle these links throughout the week as I come across different stuff. Also, if you have any book recommendations, feel free to pass them along. I’m currently trying to fly through “Cinderella Man” by Jeremy Schaap (yeah, I know I’m way late on that one):

Leave a Reply

